Connect with us   India Online Pages on Facebook
Census of IndiaCensus of India 2011Indian CensusPopulation Census of IndiaCensus of IndiaIndia Population CensusPopulation Census in IndiaCensus in India 2011

The Census of India works under Ministry of Home Affairs (Government of India) headed by Registrar General and Census Commissioner. Know more on Current Census Commissioner of India.
India Guide : Population of India : Census 2011 : Census Commissioner of India

Census Commissioner of India

Registrar General and Census Commissioner of India - Census of India collects data on different aspects of population in India. In the last 130 years, the Census of India has been providing government valuable sources of information. This information helps government of India in better allocation funds for people of India. Started in 1872, Census of India has been collecting and providing information on various population statistics after every 10 years. The rich cultural diversity and heritage in People of India is truly brought out by census data very 10 year. Therefore Census of India is a reliable source of information to study and understand people of India. Headed by Registrar General and Census Commissioner of India, the census exercise comes under the Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India. Started in year 1949, the Census of India was given the additional duty of implementation of Registration of Births and Deaths Act in 1969 in the country.

Who was the First Census Commissioner of India
Mr. W. W. Plowden was the First Census Commissioner of India.

Who is the Current Census Commissioner of India in 2010
Dr. C. Chandramouli, IAS is the current Registrar General and Census Commissioner of India.

The Census Commissioners from 1881 Census to 1941 Census and thereafter Registrar General and Census Commissioner, India from 1949 onwards are shown below:

Census of India Officials

Census Commissioners, India
Year Name of Census Commissioner
1881 Mr. W. W. Plowden
1891 Mr. J. A. Bains
1901 Mr. H. H. Risley & E. A. Gait
1911 Mr. E. A. Gait
1921 Mr. J. T. Marten
1931 Mr. J. H. Hutton
1941 Mr. M. W. M. Yeatts
Registrar General and Census Commissioners, India
1949 Mr. M W M Yeatts
1949 - 1953 Mr. R. A. Gopalaswami
1958 - 1968 Mr. Asok Mitra
1968 - 1973 Mr. A. Chandra Sekhar
1973 - 1977 Mr. R. B. Chari
1977 - 1983 Mr. P. Padmanabha
1983 - 1989 Mr. V. S. Verma
1989 - 1994 Mr. A. R. Nanda
1994 - 1999 Dr. M. Vijayanunni
1999 - 2004 Mr. Jayant Kumar Banthia
2004 - 2009 Mr. Devender Kumar Sikri
Since 2009 Dr. C. Chandramouli, IAS

Fairs & Festivals by Region
  © Copyright | Contact Us |