Delhi Metro Rail

Violet Line of Delhi Metro operating between Kashmere Gate station in New Delhi to Raja Nahar Singh in Ballabhgarh was opened for public in January 2011. Know more on route map, stations and details of Delhi Metro's Violet Line.

Violet Line Delhi Metro

Violet Line (Delhi Metro) - Delhi Metro's Violet line was first inaugurated on 3rd October 2010. Initially started between Central Secretariat to Sarita Vihar, a further expansion till Badarpur was opened for public on 14th January 2011. With further extensions, the metro line witnessed its last extension on 19 November 2018, connected to Raja Nahar Singh (terminating station). Since then, Violet Line of Delhi Metro has become a new lifeline for people traveling in and around South Delhi areas. Violet line of Delhi metro covers mainly areas in and around South Delhi and Ballabhgarh via Faridabad. The line starts as underground from Kashmere Gate, till Jangpura metro station and after Jangpura metro station, it comes to elevated portion of line covering Lajpat Nagar, Moolchand, Kailash Colony, Nehru Place, Okhla, Sarita Vihar, till the Raja Nahar Singh (Ballabhgarh). This Metro line covers the areas, markets and various other important landmarks in Lajpat Nagar, Defence Colony, Greater Kailash, Nehru Place, Sarita Vihar, Badarpur, Faridabad and Ballabhgarh. Violet Line of Delhi Metro has provided a big relief to commuters traveling to Nehru Place - one of the major IT markets in New Delhi. Violet Line of Delhi Metro offers a smooth journey of 47 kilometers. 23 metro stations on this metro route are elevated ones and rest 11 is underground. Length of each platform is 140 meters. Some of the most popular metro stations on this metro line are Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Nehru Place, Govind Puri, Badarpur and Bata Chowk. Violet line gets more crowded during office hours between 8:30 am to 11:00am (morning) and 6:00pm to 8:00 pm in the evening.

Violet Line Delhi Metro

Some Interesting facts about Violet Line of Delhi Metro:

  • 15000 commuters use Nehru Place metro station daily.
  • Govind Puri and Nehru Place are two most visited Metro Stations on this rail line.
  • Violet line has a daily ridership of 300,000 commuters as of May, 2018

Updated as on Wednesday, 30 June, 2021