Sikh Festival Calendar 2021 features Sikh Holidays for the year 2021 with there dates. Check out dates for Gurupurabs and Sikh Festivals in 2021.

Sikh Calendar 2021: Festivals and Gurupurab


Sikh Festivals in India

Sikh Festivals in India - Sikhism is one of the important religions in India and there are many festivals celebrated by Sikh/Punjabi community. Most of the Sikh festivals are events to commensurate the birth and teachings of 10 gurus of Sikhs and their teachings. The birthdays of all Gurus especially the first and last Sikh Guru is celebrated on a grand level. The other festivals that hold significant importance in Sikh festival calendar are Baisakhi, Hola Mohalla and Diwali.

Sikhs practice worshipping an omnipresent divine power. They rather venerate their Gurus, various milestones achieved by the gurus and their teachings. Some of the Hindu festivals like Diwali are also celebrated by the Sikhs but with a completely different reason and philosophy.

Sikhs worship Guru Granth Sahib Ji - a holy scripture for the Sikhs, which was compiled by their first Guru Nanak Sahib ji. His successors further edited and added on into the holy book. Devotees even circumambulate this Holy Scripture and bow their heads in devotion before it. Various festivals celebrated in Sikhism are celebrated by taking the scripture out in public processions.



Sikh festivals mainly encompass the birth days of their ten gurus. The birthday of gurus is celebrated with an unmatched vigor and Guru Granth Sahib Ji, the scripture is taken out from gurudwaras on a decorated palanquin and public processions follow it. Fireworks, distribution of sweets as Prasad and feasts at the gurudwara are all an inseparable part of these festivities. Music is considered to be the strongest medium to connect with the Supreme in Sikhism hence playing of gurbani (musical reading of the scripture); hearty dances and their martial arts display treat the eyes of viewers during the festivals.

Some of the most important Sikh festivals include birthday celebration of their first Guru Sri Guru Nank Dev Ji, his successors' birth days, Hola Mohalla, Baisakhi and Deepawali. Hola Mohalla can be equaled to an Olympics event. It is celebrated in the month of March and may co-incidentally fall on the day of Sikh New Year even. It is a week long event where Sikhs camp out and enjoy public display of their bravery and prowess. These displays are further followed by musical kirtans. Another quite interesting aspect of the festivals is that the entire Sikh sangat partaking in the festivities eats in parallel queues, also known as pangats. Vegetarian meal only is served in such feasts. On the concluding day of this festival, a military like long procession is taken out. Baisakhi is another major Sikh festival that commemorates the foundation of Khalsa panth. It is therefore celebrated with unmatched enthusiasm. Devotees flock the birthplace of their Khalsa philosophy, that is, Anandpur Sahib gurudwara. Other main places of worship including Golden temple in Amritsar and Gurudwara Sri Bangla Sahib Ji in Delhi also celebrate Baisakhi with great fanfare.

Know more on famous Sikh holidays and festivals celebrated by Sikhs and Punjabis all over India and worldwide.

Also check out 12 Months of a Sikh Calendar | Guru Purab Dates

Sikh (Nanakshahi) Calendar 2021

Sikh Holiday Dates in 2021
Date Day Holiday / Festival Parkash / Jotijot
January 13, 2021 Wednesday Lohri Punjabi winter folk festival
January 20, 2021 Wednesday Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti Birth Anniversary
March 14, 2021 Sunday Nanakshahi Sammat 553 - Sikh New Year Nanakshahi Calendar
March 23, 2021 Tuesday Shaheed Bhagat Singh Martyrdom day Martyrdom day
March 29 to 31, 2021 Tuesday Hola Mohalla (Nanakshahi Calendar) Celebrations at Anandpur Sahib, Punjab
April 13, 2021 Tuesday Vaisakhi or Sikh New Year Khalsa sajna diwas
April 13, 2021 Tuesday Guru Amar Das Guryai Gurgaddi
April 16, 2021 Friday Guru Angad Dev Jotijot Jotijot
April 17, 2021 Saturday Guru Hargobind Singh Jotijot Jotijot
April 26, 2021 Monday Guru Harkishan Singh Jotijot, Guru Tegh Bahadur Guryai Jotijot, Gurgaddi
May 01, 2021 Saturday Guru Tegh Bahadur Jayanti ** 400th Birth Anniversary
May 03, 2021 Monday Guru Arjun Dev Jayanti Birth Anniversary
May 12, 2021 Wednesday Guru Angad Dev Jayanti Birth Anniversary
May 25, 2021 Tuesday Guru Amar Das Jayanti Birth Anniversary
May 26, 2021 Wednesday Shri Guru Arjan Dev Martyrdom day Martyrdom day
June 02, 2021 Wednesday Guru Hargobind Singh Guryai Gurgaddi
June 14, 2021 Monday Guru Arjun Dev Jotijot Jotijot
June 25, 2021 Friday Guru Hargobind Singh Jayanti Birth Anniversary
August 02, 2021 Monday Guru Harkishan Singh Jayanti Birth Anniversary
September 07, 2021 Tuesday Guru Granth Sahib Jayanti Birth Anniversary
September 08, 2021 Wednesday Guru Arjun Dev Gurgaddi Gurgaddi
September 09, 2021 Thursday Guru Ramdas Jotijot Jotijot
September 18, 2021 Saturday Guru Ramdas Guryai Gurgaddi
September 20, 2021 Monday Guru Amar Das Jotijot Jotijot
September 26, 2021 Sunday Guru Angad Dev Guryai Gurgaddi
October 01, 2021 Friday Guru Nanak Dev Jotijot Jotijot
October 22, 2021 Friday Guru Ramdas Jayanti Birth Anniversary
October 30, 2021 Saturday Guru Harkishan Singh Gurgaddi, Guru Harrai Jotijot Gurgaddi, Jotijot
November 04, 2021 Thursday Bandi Chhor Bandi Chhor Divas (Nanakshahi Calendar)
November 06, 2021 Saturday Guru Granth Sahib Guryai Gurgaddi
November 09, 2021 Tuesday Guru Gobind Singh Jotijot Jotijot
November 19, 2021 Friday Guru Nanak Jayanti Parkash Shri Guru Nanak dev ji
December 06, 2021 Monday Guru Gobind Singh Guryai Gurgaddi
December 08, 2021 Wednesday Guru Tegh Bahadur Jotijot Jotijot
December 19, 2021 Sunday Guru Tegh Bahadur Martyrdom Day Martyrdom Day


** In order to commemorate 400th birth anniversary celebrations of Sri Guru Tegh Bahadur, there are nation wide celebrations planned by Government of India. But with Covid Crisis, these celebrations are likely to be affected going by protocols directed by Ministry of Health in India.


* According to (Nanakshahi calendar)