Tansen Music Festival is organized every year in the city of Gwalior to honor the great classical musician, Tansen. Check out dates and venue for Tansen Sangeet Sammelan/Samaroh in Gwalior.

Tansen Music Festival

Tansen Sangeet Samaroh

Tansen Music Festival - This cultural festival is dedicated to the pillar of Indian classical music, the great Tansen. The place where this great musician lies buries, Tansen Tomb, in Gwalior is the venue of a music festival held annually in December. Gwalior is the place that has retained the rich classical music tradition and Tansen devotion to music laid to the foundation of what is known as the Gwalior gharana style with its unique dhrupad classical form. Khayal was also refined from the Gwalior gharana only.

Tansen Samaroh is noted for its unique compositions in Indian classical style and forceful performances. Organized by the Madhya Pradesh Kala Parishad, the Tansen festival of music, the event is a unique four day show for the music lovers of the country to experience the superb melody rendered by the great exponents of Indian classical music. The most prestigious Tansen honour (samman) for the long time devotionand contribution to Hindustani classic music is also awarded on this occasion.

Tansen Music Festival 2023 will be take place from Dec in Tansen Samadhi Parisar, Hajeera, Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh.

Tansen Samman - This prestigious award is presented every year to honor famous Indian classical singers and musicians.


  • 2000 - Ustad Abdul Haleem Jafar Khan - Sitar maestro.
  • 2001 - Ustad Amjad Ali Khan - Sarod maestro.
  • 2002 - Niyaz Ahmad Khan
  • 2003 - Pandit Dinkar Kaykini
  • 2004 - Pandit Shivkumar Sharma - Santoor maestro.
  • 2005 - Malini Rajurkar - Hindustani vocalist of the Gwalior gharana and acknowledged master of Tappa and Tarana.
  • 2006 - Sulochana Brahaspati - Hindustani vocalist and exponent of the Rampur-Sahaswan gharana.
  • 2007 - Pandit Gokulotsav Maharaj - Hindustani vocalist.
  • 2008 - Ustad Ghulam Mustafa Khan - Hindustani vocalist and exponent of the Rampur-Sahaswan gharana.
  • 2009 - Ajay Pohankar - Hindustani vocalist and exponent of the Kirana gharana.
  • 2010 - Savita Devi - Hindustani vocalist from the Benaras Gharana.
  • 2011 - Rajan and Sajan Mishra - Vocalist duo.
  • 2014 - Prabhakar Karekar - Indian Classical vocalist.
  • 2015 - Pt. Laxman Krishnarao Pandit - Vocalist
  • 2016 - Pt. Dalchan Sharma - Pakhawaj Player
  • 2017 - Pt. Ulhaas kashalkar - classical vocalist
  • 2018 - Manju Mehta - Indian classical sitar player
  • 2019 - Pandit Vidyadhar Vyas - Indian Hindustani vocalist
  • 2020 - Satish Vyas - Santoor player