Explore list of Demographic terms used in Population Census of India.

Demographic Terms

Census Commission of India, which is a governing body appointed by Government of India conducts census every 10 years. The first census of India was carried out in year. All demographics related to States, cities and union territories along with divisions and sub-divisions are handled by Census of India. Here we have listed below several useful terms which have been defined by Census of India based on a number of factors including size, area, and sex ratio and so on.

Metropolitan City - Census of India defines any city as metropolitan “one having population of 1 million and above”. Going by data from last census in 2011, there are 46 metropolitan cities in India. The top metropolitan cities in Republic of India are Mumbai, Delhi, Kolkata, Chennai, Pune, Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, Banglore, Surat and Jaipur. Residents of these cities are also entitled to a higher house rent allowance.