Cricket World Cup Winners List

ODI World Cup also known as ICC Men's Cricket World Cup was founded in 1975 by International Cricket Council (ICC).This world cup format is 50 Over.It is most viewed Sporting event till 2022.There are 10 teams who qualifies in One Day International (ODI) Match, the qualification phase lasts three years.

ICC World Cup Winners List

Here,we'll enlist the Winners of One Day International (ODI) Match:-

Which team has won the most ODI World Cup?

Australia has won the ODI World Cup Five times.

The first time,Australia won in 1987 under the captaincy of Allan Border at the Eden Gardens,Kolkata,India against England. England lost the match by 7 runs.

In 1999,the runner-up team was Pakistan and the Venue was Lord's in London England.

In 2003,the runner-up team was India and Venue was Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg,South Africa.

In 2007,the opponent was Sri Lanka,the match took place at the Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados.

After a decade,In 2015,Australia won the fifth title of the ODI world cup,against New Zealand at the Melbourne Cricket Ground,Melbourne, Australia. The Match was won by 7 wickets.Michael Clarke was the Captain and James Faulkner was the Player of the final.

Which team has the record of having three consecutive ODI World Cup Titles?

Australia holds the record of three consecutive ODI World Cup Titles.The winning years are 1999,2003 and 2007.

In 1999,The match took place at Lord's in London England against Pakistan under the captaincy of Steve Waugh.The tournament was won by 8 wickets.

In 2003,Australia won by 125 runs against India at the Wanderers Stadium,Johannesburg, South Africa,under the captaincy of Ricky Ponting.

In 2007,The Runner-up team was Sri-Lanka.The tournament was held at Kensington Oval in Bridgetown,Barbados.The match was won by 53 runs under the captaincy of none other than Ricky Ponting.

Who was the first Winner of the ODI World Cup?

The first winning team of the ODI World Cup was West Indies.In 1975,West Indies won the first ODI championship against Australia at Lord's, London, England by 17 runs.Clive Lloyd was the Captain of the West Indies Team.

Who won the 1983's ODI World Cup Trophy?

In 1983,for the first time India won the ODI World Cup.The match was against West Indies at Lord's, London, England. Kapil Dev was the Indian Captain.West Indies won the toss and chose field,hence India had batting. Kris Srikkanth scored 38 runs out of 57 balls with the strike rate of 66.66,Mohinder Amarnath and Sandeep Patill scored 26 and 27 runs.India was stopped at 183 runs.Madan Lal and Mohinder Amarnath both took 3 wickets,destroyed Indies at 140.Result was India won the match by 43 runs.

Which teams have won the ODI World Cup Twice?

West Indies and India won the ODI World Cup Twice.

West Indies won the tournament in 1975 against Australia and in 1979 against England.

India won the first one in 1983 and the Second in 2011.The match was won by 6 wickets against Sri-Lanka at Wankhede Stadium,Mumbai India,under the captaincy of Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar.

Which teams have won one ODI World Cup Title till 2019?

Pakistan, Sri-Lanka and England.

Pakistan has won the ODI world Cup in 1992 against Australia at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne, Australia. Imran Khan was the Captain of Pakistan Team.

In 1996,Sri Lanka won the ODI World Cup by 7 wickets and the runner-up team was Australia. The tournament took place at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore, Pakistan. Arjuna Ranatunga was the Captain of Sri Lanka ODI Team.

In 2019,England had their first victory at Lord's in London, England. The runner-up team was New Zealand and lost a match in Super Over.Eoin Morgan was the Captain of 2019 ODI World Cup and Ben Stokes was the Player of the final.

Which teams have not won a Single ODI World Cup Title till 2022?

New Zealand, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Bangladesh.

New Zealand has not won a single ODI World Cup since 1975.The team has been runner-up two times:2015 and 2019.Though, In 2019,New zealand made it to finals but lost to Super Over.

South Africa was banned from 1979 because of Apartheid.In 1992,South Africa first played as the eighth full member of this tournament and entered the Semi-finals due to rains but lost to England.

Zimbabwe was an Associate member till 2015.Zimbabwe never qualified for semi-finals till 2019 ODI World Cup.

Bangladesh never made it to the Semi finals till the 2019 ODI World Cup.Bangladesh first qualified in 1979 and for quarter finals in 2015.