T20 World Cup Winners

ICC Men's T20 world cup is a premium format of cricket. Twenty20 cricket was first introduced in 2003 by Stuart Robertson, the marketing manager of the England and Wales Cricket Board. T20 is a game of 20 overs, lasting for 80 minutes per innings, with half an-hour interval in between. It was made short on the purpose of entertainment.

T20 World Cup Winners Team

England - Two Time Champion 2010, 2020

England has won the trophy twice.

On 16 May 2010, England won this title against Australia by 7 wickets at the Kensington oval in Bridgetown, Barbados. It was the first T20 triumphant for the cricket birthplace. England won the toss and chose to taking field first, England took opener out of match in the meantime. England lost one wicket just in 7 runs, Craig Kieswetter and Kevin Pietersen were real saviour for England. Craig Kieswetter was the man of the match and Kevin Pietersen was the player of the Tournament.

On 13 November 2020, England was the winner while Pakistan was the Runner-up. The tournament took place at Melbourne Cricket Ground in Melbourne, Australia. England won the match by 5 wickets to have the trophy in their hand second time. Like 2010, England won the toss and chose to field. Pakistan fell at 137 runs with the loss of 8 wickets. Ben stokes scored 52 runs in 49 balls with the strike rate of 106.12. Sam curran took 3 wickets maintaining the economic at 3.00 and got the title of "Player of the match".

West Indies - Two Times World Champion 2012, 2016

West Indies has also won the T20 trophy twice.

On 7 October 2012, West Indies won their first title against Sri Lanka at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo, Sri Lanka. Indies had their first trophy in hand defeating Sri Lanka by 36 runs. Indies won the toss and gave field to Sri Lanka. The Openers of indies lasted only in the Power play scoring 14 runs. Marlon Samuel and Dwayne Bravo made the match glorious and won the title. Marlon Samuel was the Man of the match.

On the 3rd of April 2016, West Indies won the second title of T20 World Cup against England at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata, India. West Indies chose to bowl and won by 4 wickets. England gave 155 runs with the loss of 9 wickets in 20 overs. Three batsmen Marlon Samuel, Carlos Brathwaite and Dwayne Bravo made the match possible to win, Hence Marlon Samuel was the Man of the Match like 2012.

India - 2007 T20 World Cup Winner

India was the first holder of T20 World Cup trophy in 2007. On 24 September 2007, India won the first title of T20 World Cup by defeating Pakistani at the Wanderers Stadium, Johannes-burg, South Africa. India won the tournament just by five runs. India won the Toss and chose to bat first Gautam Gambhir had achieved top score for India with 75 runs from 54 balls with the strike rate of 138.88. Initial phase were good but innings slowed down a little between 14-18. Rohit Sharma did score 30 runs in 16 balls with the strike rate of 187.50. India scored 157 runs in 20 overs with the loss of 5 wickets. While in chasing the scores Pakistan faced bowlers like RP Singh who took 3 wickets and Joginder Sharma took 2 wickets, Irfan Pathan took 3 wickets and won the title of Man of the match.

Pakistan - Winner of 2nd T20 World Cup

Pakistan is the second holder of T20 World Cup following India. On 21 June 2009, Pakistan won the tournament against Sri Lanka by 8 wickets. The match took place at the Lord's in London. Pakistan lost the toss and got at field first. Kumar Sangakkara scored 64 runs in 52 balls with the strike rate of 123.07. Sri Lanka faced difficulties on scoring 138 runs. Abdul Razzaq took 3 wickets. The openers of Pakistan, Kamran Akmal and Shahzaib Hassan played well in power play scoring 48 runs. Shahid Afridi was the Man of the Match and Tillakaratne Dilshan was the Player of the Series.

Sri Lanka - T20 World Cup 2014 Champion

On 6 April 2014, Sri Lanka won the match against India at Sher-e-Bangla Stadium in Dhaka, Bangladesh. Sri Lanka won the match by six wickets. Sri Lanka won the toss and did field at first, also match was delayed by rain. Virat Kohli scored 77 runs in 58 balls with the strike rate of 132.75. India was stopped at 130. Kumar Sangakkara scored 52 runs in 35 balls with the strike rate of 148.57. Sri Lanka scored 134 runs in 17.5 overs. Kumar Sangakkara was the Player of the match.

Australia - Last T20 World Cup 2022 Winner

Australia won the first title in 2021. Before 2021, Australia not even had place in runner-up. On 14 November, Australia won the T20 against New Zealand at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium in UAE. Australia won the tournament by 8 wickets to hand the T20 World Cup trophy. By winning the toss, Australia chose to field. Australia stopped New Zealand on 172 runs. Josh Hazelwood took 3 wickets. David Warner made 53 runs out of 38 balls with the strike rate of 139.47,while Mitchell Marah(not out) scored 77 runs in 50 balls with the strike rate of 154.00. Mitchell Mars was the Player of the Match. Australia scored 173 runs in18.5 overs with the loss of 2 wickets.

T20 World Cup Winners List 2007 to 2022