Hockey World Cup 2023

The greatest men's and women's hockey teams in the world are chosen through an international competition called the Hockey World Cup, which is contested every four years. One of the world's most renowned hockey competitions, it comprises 16 teams from all over the world vying for the honor of world champion. The International Hockey Federation originally held the competition in 1971, and since then it has developed into a venue for exhibiting the top players in hockey. 


The very first World Cup for hockey was organized by the international federation of hockey (FIH) in Barcelona, Spain in 1971, since then the FIH has been conducting the competition at regular intervals for 4 years.

Air Marshal Nur Khan of Pakistan was the initiator of the Hockey World Cup and he proposed the idea of organizing the Hockey World Cup to the World Hockey Magazine. At a summit in Brussels on April 12, 1970, the FIH Council endorsed his proposal, which had been authorized on October 26. The FIH announced that Pakistan will be the hosting country for the first Hockey World Cup in 1971 but because of some political issues between India and Pakistan. The competition was shifted to Real Club de Polo grounds in Barcelona, Spain in 1971. 

The Hockey World Cup was organized on a small scale as only 10 teams participated without any specific requirements. There were a total of 14 teams that participated in 1978, then 12 teams from 1978 to 2002, and from 2002 to 2018, the participating teams increased to 16 teams.

Since 1971, many nations have hosted the competition, with India hosting the most recent edition in 2018. The competition was started as a consequence of an increase in the popularity of hockey on a global scale and to allow nations a stage to display their top hockey players. Although a round-robin style is being employed today, the original plan was for a single-elimination tournament structure.

Millions of spectators tune in to witness the thrilling matches as the Hockey World Cup has grown into one of the world's finest sporting events. The tournament provides a fantastic platform for both inspiring players and teams to aspire for brilliance in their performance and for showcasing hockey across the world.


Since 1971, Pakistan has been sitting at the top position for winning the Hockey World Cup title 4 times in the history of the Hockey World Cup. They entered the finals 6 times in 1971, 1975, 1978, 1982, 1990, and 1994 out of which they lifted the title in 1971, 1978, 1982, and 1994. 

The Netherlands is in the second position for winning the Hockey World Cup. They reached the finals 7 times and won the title in 1973, 1990, and 1998. Australia also won the title 3 times whereas Germany lifted the title 2 times. On the other hand, India could reach the final of the Hockey World Cup in 1973 and 1975 and successfully lifted the title in 1975. So, India and Belgium won the title only once since 1971. 

List of the Winners In Men’s Hockey World Cup

Most Appearance in Hockey World Cup

Since the inception of the Hockey World Cup in 1971, there are 24 teams around the world that have taken part in at least one World Cup. India, Germany, Spain, and the Netherlands sit at the top for participating in all 15 World Cups since 1091. Argentina, Australia, and England each participated in 14 Hockey World Cups whereas Pakistan appeared in 13 Hockey World Cups. 

In terms of total games, the Netherlands is sitting at the top position for playing the most matches in the Hockey World Cup. There have been a total number of 605 matches since 1971 in which the Netherlands has appeared in 100 matches and won 61 matches. Moreover, India has appeared in 95 matches out of which they achieved victory in 40 matches. Australia comes next on the list after playing 95 matches and winning 69 matches. Pakistan has taken part in 89 matches from its 13 World Cup appearances and has won 51 matches. 

Hockey World Cup 2023 Schedule

The governing body of International Hockey is going to conduct the 15th edition of the Men’s Hockey World Cup tournament in 2023. The tournament will comprise 16 teams coming from different parts of the World and the world championship for men’s hockey will be played from 13th January 2023 to 29th January 2023. 

Hockey World Cup Venue

India will host the 15th edition of the Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023 and all the matches will be held at Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar and Birsa Munda International Hockey Stadium in Rourkela. 

Hockey World Cup 2023 Teams

All the participating teams in the FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023 are mentioned below:

Pool A: Australia, South Africa, France, Argentina 

Pool B: Belgium, Japan, Korea, Germany 

Pool C: Netherlands, Chile, Malaysia, New Zealand 

Pool D: India, Wales, Spain, England

The 16 nations competing that participate in the Hockey World Cup have been categorized into four pools, referred to as Pools A through D, each of which has four squads. Every team has to play against each team of its group for the group stage round and then the top teams will qualify for the quarter-finals.

In contrast, the crossover encounters will challenge the second and third-ranked squads from the 4 pools against one another to decide the other four quarter-finalists.

As soon as a team is eliminated from the title chase, they will compete in qualifying matches again until their position in the Men's Hockey World Cup 2023 is determined.